Stage on the Thuringian city chain

Stage through the Mühltal

The Thuringian Town Chain is an approximately 225 km long long-distance cycle route through the culturally and scenically charming Thuringia along the Thuringian towns.
[#if schema_image??]
    [#if schema_image?is_hash]
        [#if schema_image.alt??]
            ${schema_image.alt}
        [/#if]
    [/#if]
[/#if]

The Thuringian Town Chain is an approximately 225 km long long-distance cycle route through culturally and scenically charming Thuringia along the Thuringian towns. It leads from the gates of the Thuringian Forest near Eisenach in the west once through the entire state to the skat city of Altenburg in the east. The Thuringian city chain is particularly suitable for those interested in culture and touring cyclists.
The long-distance cycle route also passes through the Saale-Holzland district and the Mühltal valley. From here you can continue cycling towards Gera/ Altenburg in the east or Jena/ Weimar in the west. From there, a train will take you back to Hermsdorf and the Mühltal.
A few tips about the cities
Weimar

Weimar is a fairytale small town in the middle of the green heart of Germany. The spirit of German classicism is alive in this city of culture, the spirit of the Weimar Republic and the Bauhaus. Cranach, Bach, Goethe, Schiller, Coudray, Nietzsche, Liszt, Kessler, Feininger lived and worked here and gave this city its unique flair. Today, as in the past, the art world is drawn to Weimar to invent and create something new in the footsteps of their ancestors.
Jena

Jena is a modern student and high-tech city. Important personalities studied and taught at Jena University, including Schiller. His residence can be visited in Jena. Goethe also worked here, promoting the university and the botanical garden. Groundbreaking developments by Abbe and Zeiss can be discovered in the Optical Museum. Every summer, the Kulturarena thrills as a music and culture festival. Always enticing are Jena's charming surroundings, nestled between shell limestone slopes that are home to many species of orchids.
Gera

Nestled in the valley of the White Elster River, Gera, together with Ronneburg, was the venue for the 2007 Federal Garden Show. The former Prussian residence is a green city with its city forest, riverside meadows and many parks. Gera has much to offer worth seeing: the traditional Art Nouveau theater, the Municipal Art Collection in the Orangery, the museum birthplace of the city's most famous artist son, the painter Otto Dix. Also interesting are the caves, a historical labyrinth of underground passages.
Altenburg

In eastern Thuringia lies Altenburg, the cradle of skat and playing card town. The 1000-year-old residence of the Wettin princes is an insider's tip: Marvel at the ducal living culture of many centuries in the imposing castle next to playing cards, stroll through the magnificent castle park to the Lindenau Museum with its valuable art collections and the Mauritianum Natural History Museum or discover the lovingly restored old town. If you want to taste the liquid specialties of the city, you should visit the Art Nouveau brewery with museum as well as the distillery factory.

Radfernweg Thüringer Städtekette

Etappe durch das Mühltal

Die Thüringer Städtekette ist ein ca. 225 km langer Radfernweg durch das kulturell und landschaftlich reizvolle Thüringen entlang der Thüringer Städte.
[#if schema_image??]
    [#if schema_image?is_hash]
        [#if schema_image.alt??]
            ${schema_image.alt}
        [/#if]
    [/#if]
[/#if]

Die Thüringer Städtekette führt von den Toren des Thüringer Waldes bei Eisenach im Westen einmal durch das gesamte Bundesland in die Skatstadt Altenburg im Osten entlang. Besonders geeignet ist die Thüringer Städtekette für Kulturinteressierte und Tourenradler.
Der Radfernweg führt dabei auch durch den Saale-Holzland-Kreis und das Mühltal. Von hier aus können Sie weiter Richtung Gera/ Altenburg im Osten oder Jena/ Weimar im Westen mit dem Rad fahren. Von dort bringt Sie ein Zug zurück nach Hermsdorf und ins Mühltal.

Ein paar Tipps zu den Städten

Weimar

Weimar ist eine märchenhafte Kleinstadt inmitten des grünen Herzens Deutschlands. In der Kulturstadt ist der Geist der deutschen Klassik lebendig, der Geist der Weimarer Republik und des Bauhauses. Cranach, Bach, Goethe, Schiller, Coudray, Nietzsche, Liszt, Kessler, Feininger lebten und wirkten hier und gaben dieser Stadt ihr einzigartiges Flair. Heute wie damals zieht es die Kunstwelt nach Weimar, um hier auf den Spuren ihrer Vorfahren Neues zu erfinden und zu gestalten.

Jena

Jena ist eine moderne Studenten- und Hightechstadt. An der Jenaer Universität studierten und lehrten bedeutende Persönlichkeiten, so auch Schiller. Sein Wohnhaus kann in Jena besichtigt werden kann. Auch Goethe wirkte hier, förderte die Universität und den Botanischen Garten. Bahnbrechende Entwicklungen von Abbe und Zeiss sind im Optischen Museum zu entdecken. Alle Sommer wieder begeistert die Kulturarena als Musik- und Kulturfestival. Immer verlockend ist Jenas reizvolle Umgebung, eingebettet zwischen Muschelkalkhängen, auf denen viele Orchideenarten heimisch sind.

Gera

Eingebettet in das Tal der Weißen Elster war Gera gemeinsam mit Ronneburg Veranstaltungsort der Bundesgartenschau 2007. Die einstige Preußenresidenz ist mit ihrem Stadtwald, den Uferwiesen und vielen Parks eine grüne Stadt. Gera hat viel Sehenswertes zu bieten: das traditionsreiche Jugendstiltheater, die Städtische Kunstsammlung in der Orangerie, das museale Geburtshaus des berühmtesten Künstlersohnes der Stadt, des Malers Otto Dix. Interessant sind auch die Höhler, ein historisches Labyrinth unterirdischer Gänge.

Altenburg

Im Osten Thüringens liegt Altenburg, die Wiege des Skats und Spielkartenstadt. Die 1000-jährige Residenz der Wettiner Fürsten ist ein Geheimtipp: Bestaunen Sie im imposanten Schloss neben Spielkarten herzogliche Wohnkultur vieler Jahrhunderte, schlendern Sie durch den herrlichen Schlosspark zum Lindenau-Museum mit seinen wertvollen Kunstsammlungen und zum Naturkundemuseum Mauritianum oder entdecken Sie die liebevoll restaurierte Altstadt. Wer die flüssigen Spezialitäten der Stadt probieren möchte, sollte die Jugendstil-Brauerei mit Museum sowie die Destilleriefabrik besuchen.