The frog mill

Sledding fun and children's noise

[#if schema_image??]
    [#if schema_image?is_hash]
        [#if schema_image.alt??]
            ${schema_image.alt}
        [/#if]
    [/#if]
[/#if]

The exact age of the Frog Mill is not known. Probably it existed already in the 15th century. The name Frog Mill is due to the owner in 1585, who was nicknamed "Frog". In 1847 the mill burned down. Nevertheless, it was completely rebuilt. In 1890 it was established as a boarding house and restaurant, and the cutting mill remained in operation until 1914.

The mill was a winter sports center in the 1920s and 1930s. The then free slope above the mill with the adjacent hollow way was a toboggan run. Thus, the Frog Mill became famous and popular not only for summer resort, but also for winter resort!

From 1945 to 1953 there is said to have been an interpreting school in the Frog Mill, initially under American management.

Three years later, the city of Eisenberg signed a long-term lease with the then owner to use the now dilapidated mill as a youth hostel. In 1990, the hostel was assigned to the Youth Hostel Association of Thuringia.  The youth hostel is still operated under its responsibility today.

Verkehr

Parken

Information for Guests

Bath Facilitys

Information of the Museum

Information of Architecture

In the mountain

Treatments and indications

Mobility Offers

Sauna facilitys

Ensemble

Offers and service

Area

Congress facilitys

Distances

Die Froschmühle

Rodelspaß und Kinderlärm

[#if schema_image??]
    [#if schema_image?is_hash]
        [#if schema_image.alt??]
            ${schema_image.alt}
        [/#if]
    [/#if]
[/#if]

Das genaue Alter der Froschmühle ist nicht bekannt. Vermutlich existierte sie schon im 15. Jahrhundert. Die Bezeichnung Froschmühle ist dem Besitzer im Jahre 1585 geschuldet, der den Spitznamen “Frosch” trug. Im Jahre 1847 brannte die Mühle ab. Dennoch wurde sie vollständig neu aufgebaut. 1890 wurde sie als Pension und Gaststätte eingerichtet, wobei die Schneidemühle noch bis zum Jahre 1914 in Betrieb blieb.

Die Mühle war in den 1920er und 1930er Jahren Wintersportzentrum. Der damals freie Hang oberhalb der Mühle mit dem anschließenden Hohlweg war eine Rodelbahn. Damit wurde die Froschmühle nicht nur für die Sommerfrische, sondern auch für die Winterfrische bekannt und beliebt!

Von 1945 bis 1953 soll in der Froschmühle eine Dolmetscherschule, anfangs unter amerikanischer Führung, gewesen sein.

Drei Jahre später schloss die Stadt Eisenberg mit der damaligen Besitzerin einen langfristigen Pachtvertrag ab, um die inzwischen verfallene Mühle als Jugendherberge zu nutzen. 1990 wurde die Herberge dem Jugendherbergsverband Thüringen zugeordnet.  Die Jugendherberge wird in dessen verantwortung bis heute betrieben.

Verkehr

Parken

Gästeinformation

Bad-Ausstattung

Museum-Information

Architektur-Information

Unter Tage

Anwendungen und Heilanzeigen

Mobilitätsangebote

Sauna-Ausstattung

Ensemble

Angebote und Service

Größe

Tagungsausstattung

Entfernungen