Circular hiking trail "Sommerfrische"

Enjoy nature and tranquility in the Mühltal

In the densely wooded Thuringian Holzland, streams have their source, cutting deep into the red red sandstone and creating wildly romantic valleys such as the Mühltal. The gentle Rauda forest stream connects idyllically situated former water mills between Kursdorf and Weißenborn over a length of eight kilometers.
[#if schema_image??]
    [#if schema_image?is_hash]
        [#if schema_image.alt??]
            ${schema_image.alt}
        [/#if]
    [/#if]
[/#if]

Known since time immemorial as a summer resort, since the early 20th century the Mühltal has attracted numerous holidaymakers and excursionists, who above all want to enjoy the picturesque nature and tranquility, away from the noise and hustle and bustle of everyday life.

Eight former grinding and cutting mills, idyllically situated between the dense green forest, lush meadows and graceful sandstone rocks, invite the hiker, cyclist and walker to rest and relax at any time of the year. All the mills have their own centuries-old history and welcome visitors with typical Thuringian hospitality. The offer of the mills is versatile and each one captivates by its individual charm. Whether pension, hotel or a vacation bungalow, the accommodation possibilities are manifold.

The starting point of the hike is the parking lot at the Waldkliniken Eisenberg. From here, a forest path leads you through the spruce forest down into the unspoiled Mühltal valley with the course of the Rauda River and its diverse flora and fauna. You will pass the Naupold Mill, Frog Mill, Pfarr Mill, Walk Mill and the Amtsschreibers Mill before you turn off in front of the Schössers Mill on the market path up to the Herrenberg in the direction of the Eisenberg Observatory. The route then leads you in an easterly direction back to the parking lot at the Waldkliniken Eisenberg, the starting point of the Tor.

The mill hosts are there for their guests all year round and the Mühltal is worth a trip, especially during the winter months. Please note that there are currently restrictions and inform yourself directly at the mill hosts about their gastronomic offer.

Rundwanderweg "Sommerfrische"

Natur und Ruhe im Mühltal genießen

Im waldreichen Thüringer Holzland entspringen Bäche, die sich tief in den roten Buntsandstein eingeschnitten und wildromantische Täler, wie das Mühltal geschaffen haben. Der sanfte Waldbach Rauda verbindet auf acht Kilometern Länge, idyllisch gelegene, ehemalige Wassermühlen zwischen Kursdorf und Weißenborn.
[#if schema_image??]
    [#if schema_image?is_hash]
        [#if schema_image.alt??]
            ${schema_image.alt}
        [/#if]
    [/#if]
[/#if]

Seit jeher als Sommerfrische bekannt, lockt das Mühltal seit dem frühen 20. Jahrhundert zahlreiche Urlauber und Ausflügler herbei, welche vor allem die malerische Natur und die Ruhe, abgeschieden von Lärm und Alltagshektik, genießen wollen.

Acht ehemalige Mahl- und Schneidemühlen, welche idyllisch zwischen dem dichten grünen Wald, saftigen Wiesen und anmutigen Sandsteinfelsen liegen, laden den Wanderer, Radfahrer und Spaziergänger zu jeder Jahreszeit zu Rast und Erholung ein. Alle Mühlen bergen ihre eigene Jahrhunderte alte Geschichte und empfangen den Besucher mit typischer Thüringer Gastlichkeit. Das Angebot der Mühlen ist vielseitig und jede einzelne besticht durch ihren individuellen Charme. Ob Pension, Hotel oder doch ein Ferienbungalow, die Übernachtungsmöglichkeiten sind vielfältig.

Startpunkt der Wanderung ist der Parkplatz der Waldkliniken Eisenberg. Von hier aus führt Sie ein Forstweg durch den Fichtenwald hinab in das urwüchsiges Mühltal mit dem Lauf der Rauda und der vielfältigen Flora und Fauna. Sie wandern vorbei an der Naupoldsmühle, Froschmühle, Pfarrmühle, Walkmühle und der Amtsschreibersmühle ehe Sie vor der Schössersmühle auf dem Marktweg hinauf zum Herrenberg in Richtung Eisenberger Sternwarte abbiegen. Die Strecke führt Sie anschließend in östlicher Richtung zurück zum Parkplatz an den Waldkliniken, dem Ausgangspunkt der Tor.

Die Mühlenwirte sind ganzjährig für ihre Gäste da und das Mühltal ist insbesondere auch zur Winterfrische einen Ausflug wert. Bitte beachten Sie, dass es aktuell zu Einschränkungen kommt und informieren Sie sich direkt bei den Mühlenwirten über deren gastronomisches Angebot.